Bulldog Club of America


Health Awards


Click HERE to open the fillable PDF application for the Ambassadors For Health and Pioneers of Health Programs in a new tab or window.  You can then save the PDF to your computer.  A letter explaining the program can be opened HERE.  A brochure about why to health test your bulldog, including the health testing matrix with all recommended tests can be found HERE.  A standalone matrix of the health testing we promote for bulldogs can be found HERE

BCA Ambassador for Health Awards Program

Congratulations! If you did not get your certificate, I’ll be mailing them next week

Posted by Elizabeth Hugo Milam on Sunday, November 4, 2018



The purpose of the BCA Ambassador for Health program is to promote betterment of the Bulldog breed through health testing by recognizing Bulldogs, owned by BCA members, which have met specific health testing requirements.  

All Ambassador for Health Recipients may be viewed at the links below.  PDF reader required.

2012 AFH Awards

2013 AFH Awards

2014 AFH Awards

2015 AFH Awards

2016 AFH Awards

2017 AFH Awards

2018 AFH Awards

The program has 5 levels of recognition – Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum and Diamond.

Passing results are required on all eligible certifications except DNA based health screenings (passing results eligible for certification are defined by OFA). Any result will be accepted for DNA based health screenings, including but not limited to, Clear, Carrier or Affected. All results, including DNA specific results, must be submitted to OFA and be verifiable in their public database.

Eligible Certifications:

OFA Congenital Cardiac (all certifications accepted, Echo preferred)

OFA Patellar Luxation

OFA Tracheal Hypoplasia

OFA Thyroid

OFA Elbow Dysplasia

OFA Hip Dysplasia


Eligible DNA based health screenings:


Type 3 Cystinuria DNA Marker


The requirements for each certificate level are:

Bronze – successful completion of any 4 of the eligible certifications/DNA screenings

Silver – successful completion of any 5 of the eligible certifications/DNA screenings

Gold – successful completion of any 6 of the eligible certifications/DNA screenings

Platinum – successful completion of 7 of the eligible certifications/DNA screenings

Diamond - successful completion of all eligible certifications/DNA screenings


Age Notes for the Ambassador for Health Award:

Congenital Cardiac, Patellar Luxation, Tracheal Hypoplasia & Thyroid – Dogs must be 12 months of age or older on the date of the examination.

Hips/Elbow Dysplasia – Dogs must be 24 months of age or older at the time of the radiography.

A veterinary cardiologist, other veterinary specialist, or any veterinary practitioner may perform OFA cardiac testing. Certification by Echocardiogram is preferred.


The Bulldog that is applying for the Ambassador for Health award must be owned or co-owned by a BCA member in good standing. It is not necessary to be a BCA member at the time the tests were performed.


Each eligible Bulldog will be awarded a certificate suitable for framing which indicates the level of achievement and details the health certifications the dog has successfully completed.


All awards are designed to be a one-time award for each recipient rather than a reoccurring, annual award. Additional levels can be applied for in subsequent years provided all required verification is provided to the Health Committee.


In addition, any Bulldog receiving an Ambassador for Health certificate that has also participated in any BCA initiated or recognized research project will receive a Health Pioneer designation which will be included on their Ambassador for Health certificate.


General notes for the Health Pioneer designation:

OFA EYE is considered part of the Health Pioneer recognition since at this time the Ambassador for Health program is comprised of permanent certifications. A passing OFA EYE certificate that is current the calendar year of the award is required. All tests must be submitted to OFA and be part of their public database.


Certificates for BAER hearing testing, CHIC DNA repository and OFA Spinal Database may also be submitted for inclusion in the Health Pioneer designation.


Proof of participation is required for any other BCA initiated health studies in order to be included in the Health Pioneer designation.


The Health Pioneer can also be applied for as a stand-alone certificate. However, OFA EYE certification will not be considered for the stand-alone certification.