Bulldog Club of America

Austin Bulldog Club

President: Elizabeth Smith
Vice President: Darrell Vinklarek
Secretary: Carolyn Adams
11911 Hornsby St.
Austin, TX 78753
Treasurer: Jessica Maier


Board of Directors:

Herb Adams
Barbara Gattis

Sue Slaughter
Darrel Vinklarek
Yvonne Vinklarek

Click here for the Club website.

The Austin Bulldog Club was formed in 1971.  Its club members worked very hard for 13 years to reach the AKC's sanctioned Match status, which is a required event to qualify for approval to hold licensed Specialty Shows and award championship points in the future.

According to a report submitted by Sue Slaughter in the Spring 1986 Biennial-Bulldogger, the club obtained its informal “B” Match status in 1984.

The club first conducted an AKC-sanctioned "B" Match in June 1984. It was judged by LeRoy Muenzler. He chose as Best in Match, Lucille Inmon's "Eva."

The first AKC-sanctioned formal "A" Match was held in February 1985, with Mrs. Nan Burke of Texas judging. She chose Little Henry Ordeal as Best in Match.

The second and final AKC-sanctioned "A" Match was held in August of 1985. This match was judged by Mr. Doug Wilson of Louisiana. He chose as Best in Match, Tuppance Dominion.

The Austin Bulldog Club was notified that it had obtained its AKC-licensed Specialty Club status in June 1986.

The club held it's first licensed Specialty Show in 1987 with an entry of 71. The judge for this specialty show was Mr. Dean Anderson of California.

He awarded Best of Breed honors to Ch. Carden's Buddy Ballistic, owned by Mapo Kennels, Reg. (Richard Maze, Hinds Poth and John Wirth).